Information on Functions and Services Provided

 Content Editor

​About SOLAS

We are the State Organisation with responsibility for funding, planning and co-ordinating Further Education and Training (FET) in Ireland.

Established in 2013 under the Further Education & Training Act we are an agency of the Department of Education and Skills and are governed by a Board​. We have been tasked with building the identity and values of a world-class, integrated FET sector that is responsive to the needs of learners and the requirements of a changed and changing economy. SOLAS also manages the National Apprenticeship system, EGFeCollege, Safepass, Quarries Skills Certification Scheme a​nd the Construction Skills Certification Scheme. See below for further details.


SOLAS delivers online learning through eCollege  which offers a range of high quality interactive online learning courses, available any time through broadband internet access, for those who wish to learn at their own pace. On-Line learning courses typically take from 14-24 weeks to complete and caters for individuals who are IT literate and who wish to work at their own pace and in their own time. Courses are offered with and without e-tutor support. Learners can register for on-line courses through Courses include; CompTIA Network+, Mobile Technology, Java Professional Developer and Microsoft.
Click eCollege  for further details.

Certificates of Experience

Where required, member states are obliged to issue a European Community Certificate of Experience to workers, as evidence of their experience, training and qualifications. The Guidance Notes explain the details about the Certificate of Experience to applicants from the Republic of Ireland. These notes cover information such as the application process and the practical use of the Certificate. The brief guide to the Jobs Coveredby the Certificate of Experience will also help to inform decisions about working in Europe.  Please complete and submit the application form with the necessary supporting documents to the address provided.
For further information about Certificates of Experience please contact:
Legal Services Department - + 353 1 533 2394.

Safe Pass

The SOLAS Safe Pass Health and Safety Awareness Training Programme is to ensure that, over the course of time, all workers in construction will have a basic knowledge of health and safety, and be able to work on-site without being a risk to themselves or others who might be affected by their acts or omissions. From a health and safety perspective, construction workers are bound by law to hold a valid Safe Pass card. Click Safe Pass for further details.

Construction Skills Certificate Scheme and Quarrying Skills Certificate Scheme

The Construction Skills Certification Scheme (CSCS) and the Quarrying Skills Certification Scheme (QSCS) provides for the training, assessment, certification and registration of non-craft operatives within the construction and quarrying sectors. Courses are up to one week in duration and are delivered all year round.  Click CSCS and QSCS for further details.  

European Globalisation Fund (EGF)

SOLAS co-ordinates the European Globalisation Fund (EGF) programmes on behalf of the Department of Education and Skills. The European Globalisation​ Adjustment Fund (EGF) was established in December 2006 to support certain redundant workers made redundant as a result of major changes in global trade patterns to assist them back into employment as soon as possible. The scope of the EGF covers education and training programmes, career advice and guidance, and enterprise supports. EGF programme supports may only be provided within a 24 month period starting from the date of submission of an EGF application ​​​​.​


Apprenticeship is a demand-driven, workplace and classroom, educational and training programme for employed people aimed at developing the skills of the apprentice to meet the needs of industry and the labour market. The Curriculum for each apprenticeship programme is based on uniform, pre-specified standards which are agreed and determined by industry. On successful completion of an apprenticeship, a QQI Advanced Certificate is awarded; this is recognised internationally as the requirement for craftsperson status.​ Click here for further details.